Xfinity Series

JR Motorsports sets 2019 driver lineup

What’s old is new again in the NASCAR Xfinity Series. JR Motorsports announced on Friday that a familiar number was coming home.

The No. 8 has returned to its rightful owner, Dale Earnhardt Jr. The number was acquired from B.J. McLeod.

JR Motorsports has shaken up the look of three of their four teams for 2019, changing their No. 9 team to the No. 8 team. That car will field a variety of drivers, including Ryan Preece, Jeb Burton, Zane Smith, Ryan Truex and Spencer Gallagher.

While nothing has been announced, you can probably count Dale Jr. in to drive the car at Darlington and potentially Richmond as well.

The No. 8 news was just a piece of the puzzle, however. JR Motorsports also announced that Michael Annett’s No. 5 team would swap to the No. 1, while Noah Gragson’s No. 1 team would swap to the No. 9. For what it’s worth, JR Motorsports has won titles with rookie drivers three different times (Elliott, Byron, Reddick) with the No. 9 team.

Justin Allgaier’s team will remain unchanged.

Terry Lambert
Terry Lambert is the Co-Owner of, which covers all things NASCAR.

Leave a Reply